In May 2001, after establishing the Sexual Assault/Domestic Violence Task Force programs in Harrison and Crawford County, it became apparent that a freestanding facility to provide privacy and quality treatment to victims of sexual assault was necessary. A grassroots effort, organized by Pam Davis, Cheryl Hillenburg, and Lola Ratterman, located a facility in Milltown, Indiana well suited for a sexual assault treatment center. In July of 2001, a Board of Directors was established and moved forward in creating an independent sexual assault treatment center.

    The R.A.P.E. Treatment Center opened on April 18, 2002. Originally services were provided to adolescents and adults. However, the need for a pediatric program was overwhelming, and Pediatric Sexual Assault services began in November 2002, providing services to children of all ages. As knowledge of the specific needs of children grew, the founders of the R.A.P.E. Treatment Center began working to establish a child advocacy center that would be housed in the same facility. On August 5, 2004, Southern Indiana Regional Alliance to Prevent Exploitation, Inc. became an associate member of the National Children's Alliance. On October 3, 2004, the R.A.P.E. Treatment Center became Comfort House: Sexual Assault Treatment and Child Advocacy Center.

    In October 2006, Comfort House refocused primary efforts on child advocacy and the use of the multidisciplinary team approach to investigating allegations of child abuse. In September 2007, funding was obtained from Harrison County Commissioners to facilitate the opening of a child advocacy center in Harrison County. This facility opened January 2008. In September 2008, Comfort House staff began facilitating the Good Touch Bad Touch body safety program in Harrison County elementary schools. This program evolved into the Speak Up Be Safe prevention program in the fall of 2011 and is still being conducted by Comfort House staff. Comfort House staff began facilitating Stewards of Children, a prevention program aimed at adults, in June 2015.

Organizational Structure 

Angela Byrne – President 
Jonathan Smith - Vice President
Nolan Taylor - Treasurer
Leigh Lancia - Secretary
Jesse Ashton - Member
Heather Comer - Member
Melissa Johnston - Member
Rachel Kitterman - Member
Sharon Laufer, M.D. - Member

Donna Lloyd - Executive Director, Forensic Interviewer 
Chelsey Bohnert - Program Coordinator, Forensic Interviewer
Elizabeth Stinson - Forensic Interviewer


Non-Profit Organization
    Comfort House is the assumed business name for the Southern Indiana Regional Alliance to Prevent Exploitation, Inc. This organization is governed by a nine-member, volunteer Board of Directors who hires and supervises the Executive Director, Program Coordinator, and any other staff or contract laborer. 
     Our services are provided free of charge in a confidential setting. We are a non-profit organization, incorporated as a 501 (c) 3 in October of 2001. Comfort House operates on local, state, and federal funding sources as well as community support. 
    Grantor and fund providers have included the Community Foundation of Crawford County, Community Foundation of Southern Indiana, Harrison County Community Foundation, Indiana Criminal Justice Institute, Indiana Department of Children's Services, National Children's Alliance, New Hope Services, Metro United Way, Hook's Foundation, Samarian Foundation, and the Harrison County Commissioners and Council.